IEEE at Missouri S&T: From 1925 to Now

Picture of the 2018-19 officer team

Electrical engineering was founded as an emphasis area for Physics in 1890 at the Missouri School of Mines (MSM). The Buford Act (1915) created the electrical engineering major, and in 1917 the first Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering degree was awarded from MSM. Interest in the major continued to grow, and by 1924 the Electrical Engineering Department was formed. The same year a student chapter of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) was founded at MSM. The department eventually came to also offer graduate degrees and other extracurricular options, such as  the student chapter of the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) and a student chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN). In 1963, AIEE and IRE merged and our IEEE student branch was officially born. Since then our school has become known as Missouri S&T and we’ve grown to also include students in computer engineering, computer science, and Information Science and Technology. We also offer more programs like emphasis area workshops, tech talks, company info sessions, socials, and study sessions. As an organization, we strive to provide students more opportunities and honor the efforts of those who laid the foundation for our branch nearly 100 years ago.

Visit Us at S&T!